Users module documentation

The pages module allows you to edit the users than can access your admin control panel. This includes your own user.

Access permissions

If you can only see your own user in your admin control panel, or can't see the 'user privileges' options it is possible that your user doesn't have permission to edit users.

If you don't have permission to edit your own user privileges please either contact the person in charge of your website. If that is you, then please contact us for help.

Adding a user

When you create a new user you will need to let them know what their username and password is. Users will be able to change their own password after they first log in.

To add a new user to the admin control panel of your website:

  1. Log into your admin control panel
  2. Select "Users" from the primary navigation
  3. Select "Add a new user" from the shortcut bar
  4. Fill out the form. If you are not sure what a field does hover over the title to view contextual help for that field.
  5. When selecting the users permissions and preferences please ensure you give them access to all the areas of the admin control panel you think they may want to use. Please note that a user that has 'can edit user' privileges can edit their own privileges.
  6. Click on the blue "Save" button at the bottom of the form

Editing a user

Users that have 'can edit user' privileges will be able to edit all users for your website. Other users will only be able to make limited changes to their own user.

To edit a user:

  1. Log into your admin control panel
  2. Select "Users" from the primary navigation
  3. Either click on the display name of a user or on the edit icon next to it (a picture of a notepad and pencil)
  4. Make any changes you wish to make to the content of the form. If you are not sure what a field does hover over the title to view contextual help for that field.
  5. You don't need to enter the users password again - if you are not changing it then please just leave that field blank.
  6. Click on the blue "Save" button at the bottom of the form to save your changes
  7. If there were any problems with the data on your form correct them an press "Save" again

Deleting a user

Users can be deleted, but please note that there is no undo feature - if you're not completely sure you want to delete a user please just disable them. You cannot delete the user you are currently logged into the admin control panel with.

To delete a user:

  1. Log into your admin control panel
  2. Select "Users" from the primary navigation
  3. Click the delete icon (a red cross) next to the user you want to delete
  4. Click the confirm button if you are sure you wish to delete this user
Loading... Updating page...